Dear diary,

He asked me, ” What’s in that head of yours?”

I looked up, and I am loss for words.

He stared and said, ” What do you want to say?”

I stared and smiled, “Nothing”.

So he looks away,

As I look at his face

Little does he know

I measured every stance he took

Every little sip

His questions calculated

In my head I had all the words;

Just he failed to see

His questions were all he knew

He saw what he needed to see

Weighed me out like a book

Never to know

The emotions that his words didn’t show.

As I sip my coffee slow.

So Dear diary,

I write this to you

For the questions I answered

I shall address them to you.

What’s in my head you ask?

Million things and nothing

If I told you I was sad

Then the smile I had

Would have made you mad

That I fake semblance for a dying day

When all I had was a million things to say.

What do I want to say?

If I told you to take your hand

Or leave?

Tell you let’s take a chance

Would it change the countenance I had

Of how comfortable it all was

That the days are just days

But I break in every way.

Would that answer your questions?

Answers you don’t want to hear

Answers that will go nowhere

Answers to an uneven day.

So instead I smile

Talk for awhile

Let the day play out

As the bill arrives

Now dearest love,

In the spirit of it all

For a  wordsmith to have no words

Is an ironic tale

Where she sits and smiles

And words fail.

Her mouth opens and lips work

All just turns to “small talk”.

dee5bda4f0534a68a66dc957edf5333d

Leave a Reply

