Sound.

“There is in souls a sympathy with sounds:
And as the mind is pitch’d the ear is pleased
With melting airs, or martial, brisk or grave;
Some chord in unison with what we hear
Is touch’d within us, and the heart replies.” ~William Cowper

I wake,

to the sound of the wind,

to the birds that sing,

to the leaves that dance,

to the trees that move;

Oh! They move.

Can’t you see them

In unison to the wind

How she rustles and they quiver

Uprooted and still

So still, but they move.

There’s a sound I can’t explain

In harmony with the wind

It howls out my soul

Like it wants to sing;

The beats of my heart

Combine to the drums of the trunks

My mind drifts away

Trapped in a bird’s song.

I wake,

As I dream,

Come wander off with me

Where the wind takes us

Where the birds guide us

Through the woods we go

In wonder I flow,

Like sound I cannot see but make

Come with me

As you dream while, awake.

58ee972d80ceaf2b13874a46a748664f.jpg
Image inspired (Pinterest)
Leave a Reply

